Tucking in the Octopus

by cnorthcote

I have two things I would like to share from today…

Number one.  One of my students said something to this effect to Ms. Pearlman, “Do you know Ms. Northcote?  She is a really good teacher.  I didn’t think I would ever be able to do math but she made me understand it”.  I was THRILLED.  She told me it was completely unsolicited and very sweet.  I was so flattered.  I just hope I can help him to continue to understand and I’m so happy he is gaining confidence in his abilities.

Number two.  I am reading a book that my friend’s mom wrote.  It has a quote that I feel perfectly captures the way I have been feeling as a teacher lately.  She wrote, “This must be what it felt like to tuck an octopus into bed.  An arm or two kept popping out.”  Maybe in time I will figure out how to get those arms all tucked in!

Goodnight and Happy Monday!

