Tough Nut to Crack

by cnorthcote

On the first day of school one of my girls asked to go to the bathroom. I explained that she only had three restroom passes for the semester but she could go if she wanted to, so she left. A bit later another kid asked to use the bathroom. We only have one pass so I couldn’t let him go. I told him he could go when Marilyn returned from the restroom. At that moment the entire class looked at me and laughed, collectively letting me know she was not coming back. I had been fooled.

I talked to her about it later that week and quickly realized she was going to be a challenge. I asked her if she was going to be difficult all year and if she would ever let me in. She told me it wasn’t going to be easy. I took this as a challenge.

Marilyn is a tiny thing but she is so feisty. I came to the conclusion that I was going to have to give her a bit of her own sass and that is exactly what I have done ever since. Turns out this was one of my better ideas.

On Friday I had the opportunity to meet Marilyn’s mother. She told me that Marilyn talks about me all of the time as Marilyn sat next to her mom blushing. Looks like I’ve finally hooked her! I cannot wait to see how much she learns this year. She is already so smart and so bold. I know she is capable of anything she puts her mind to and honestly I cannot wait to see what she chooses to pursue!

