Train Friends

by cnorthcote

I have started to see the same people every morning on my trip to school. Seeing these “friends” makes the big city seem a little smaller. Here is a rundown of my so called friends:

96th street friends:

  • The kid with the giant headphones. We say good morning most days.
  • The teacher in the yellow jacket. We both travel from 96th to Baychester every weekday.
  • The guy with the goatee. We don’t talk. He is very serious in the mornings.

Two train friends (the people I see on the train but not at my stop):

  • The botanical gardens man. He always finds a way to make eye contact and say good morning. He also regularly wears his jean/leather jacket and his botanical gardens hat. He’s one of my favorites because he is so friendly.
  • Teacher man. He is constantly grading papers so I’ve come to the conclusion that he either gives a lot of homework or doesn’t ever do homework himself.
  • Preacher woman. She preaches later in the train ride, after I’ve already transferred to the five, but man is she intense. She always smiles at me though so I guess I like her despite her intensity.

149th street friends:

  • The twins. These brothers would be impossible to tell apart if they didn’t have different haircuts.
  • Community center man. He isn’t a daily traveler but he offers to hold my coffee rather than letting me set it down on the platform.

Five train friends:

  • More teachers. I’m pretty sure I assume everyone is a teacher on the early morning trains but I know for a fact all three of these people teach and can even tell you where they teach!
  • The little girl and her dad. They get on the train at east 180th. One time I gave her my seat and now she always smiles at me. Her happy little face is a good thing to see each morning.
  • Roy. I once smelled Roy smoking weed but I’m not sure he knows that. He also hops on at 180th and has asked me if I am married. To this I replied “no but I’m seeing someone”. That may be a lie but it was so awkward…
  • The student. I’m not sure of his name but we now smile in greeting each morning. He is deaf and most of his classes are right by my room. I’m going to ask one of the teachers in the hearing impaired department to remind me how to say good morning in sign language.
  • Annie. Annie is a student at Bronx Health and Science which is housed in Truman. She is so fun and chatty. When I see her in the mornings we will usually walk to the school together.

So those are my “friends”! I am very thankful that I have familiar faces to see each morning!

20111107-183353.jpg

