Being a Real Person

by cnorthcote

I’m a real person. When I say that, I mean to say I have a job, that I am no longer a full time student. I live in the real world…I pay real rent…real expensive rent.

This is my first real world experience and I’m not sure how it compares to the adventures of others as they become real people. Sometimes I wonder what it would be like to have a different job, not to say I don’t enjoy mine…but what would it be like? Would I take my work home with me physically and emotionally? Would I talk about my job all of the time? Would I feel so consumed by it all?

It isn’t that I don’t love my job but it is just something I think about. There is no doubt becoming a real person is an adventure for everyone. I’m just interested to know what another job would be like…how would something else compare with teaching?

