Highs and Lows

by cnorthcote

Ohhh, ohhhh we’re halfway there…seriously though, the semester ends on Monday. Whattttt?!? So besides being halfway through the madness that has been my first year as a teacher, here are this weeks highs and lows:

Highs

  • Getting a surprise ride home on Thursday and avoiding what would have likely been a tearful train ride home
  • Discovering that Trader Joe’s makes a brownie mix that you can cook in the microwave one serving at a time!
  • Having two wonderfully awesome and supportive “work” friends to share this crazy adventure with. I don’t think I could do it without them and I am so glad we are in this together
  • Barb and Lauren came over on Tuesday for wine and cheese. It felt so familiar and made the night much better
  • Talking about skin color with my kids. During lunch a few of the kids stopped by and we had a really honest and open conversation about skin color. It was really interesting to hear what they had to say
  • It’s snowing…so pretty and so fun to wake up to!

Lows

  • Thursday is a top contender for my worst day at school yet this year
  • Grad school just got so much more difficult
  • Being cursed at by a very angry high schooler. I’m praying he gets the help he needs
  • One of my kids was arrested this week and things are not looking good. It’s absolutely heartbreaking

And for something not so sad, I had a really fun Saturday with Sarah and her college friends!

20120121-103702.jpg

