Hunkering Down

by cnorthcote

Sandy has caused quite an uphevel and plenty of damage on the east coast. But, I am happy to report that we are safe in our upper east side apartment.

Sandy has brought plenty of drama to the city. We have already had two days without school, many streets are flooded and lower Manhattan is without power. We have also had numerous emergency phone calls, voicemails, emails, and phone alerts. This storm has been taken very seriously by city officials and most residents…apart from the wahoos who decided jet skiing was a genius idea…

As for my roommates and I, we have spent most of our time hunkered down. We have tried to make the best of our time stuck indoors by coloring (yes, I’m serious), watching the news, catching up on shows online, napping, reading, eating, enjoying wine, and filming ridiculous “news broadcasts”…we will share those later. Overall, it has been calm for us as compared to many others in the city and for that we are thankful.

Thank you to all of you who have been so sweet as to check in and ensure my roommates and I are safe. I can’t tell you how much we appreciate your well wishes!

